About ZEVA

Next ZEVA meeting

Past ZEVA meetings


About ZEVA

Participating chambers



Österreichische Ärztekammer

Austrian Medical Chamber


Weihburggasse 10-12; 1010 Wien

+43 1 51406-3000

international[at]aerztekammer.at / post[at]aerztekammer.at



The Chamber was established in its current form in 1891. There are 9 regional Medical Chambers (one in each Austrian province), for which the Austrian Medical Chamber acts as umbrella association under public law. All of the 43,000 doctors exercising their profession are members of the Medical Chamber of the province in which they work. Each provincial Medical Chamber is structured into two bodies (“Kurien”), one for hospital physicians and one for self-employed doctors.


In general, the provincial Medical Chambers are responsible for representing the doctors in their respective provinces. This implies that most of the operative duties fall under their competence. The Austrian Medical Chamber, on the other hand, assumes responsibility for matters which concern the whole country, the emphasis being on strategic activities.


Tasks and responsibilities 

Medical education


Basic Medical Education  

Specialty Training  

Continuing Medical Education /
Continuing Professional Development (CME / CPD)


Physicians' self-governance